Thoughts about Quotes – Africa was a country till I turned 11.

“Knowing is independent of being. I did not know you existed before you bumbled in here and ruined my nap. Yet that doesn’t mean you weren’t real before you woke me.”

Eragon, by Christopher Paolini

I find this particular thread of thought very fascinating. I read Eragon years ago, and recently I began thinking about how humans can be very self-centered, how we don’t know about anything beyond what is in our minds. I know it’s impossible to have knowledge of things that we have not heard of, or learnt about. But some people don’t even keep an open mind to the fact that there are thousands of things that you probably don’t know about, and just because you don’t know it, it doesn’t mean it’s not real or true. I don’t know if this is making sense – it’s a difficult line of thinking, and I’m not great at expressing it. So, example: Till I was around 11 or 12, I thought that Africa was a country. I guess I had never learnt about, or more possibly, I didn’t care to think about it; surely I had looked at a map and seen that there are borders and many different bolded names, indicating various countries. But it wasn’t till one day when someone corrected my decade long obliviousness that I found out that Africa is a continent. It took me a while to come to terms with this, because in the course of a few minutes, more than 50 countries replaced just one.

Just something to think about. I love the way quotes from books that we might have read years ago, come back to our thoughts some day.

 

I’m trying this new weekly post: Thoughts about Quotes. This is a fairly short post, but I might make them a bit longer from now on. Let me know your thoughts about this kind of post – do you like it? Would you want more? Do you not like and why not? And also let me know your thoughts on this week’s quote!

Happy reading,

Z.

 

Leave a Reply

