The Maze Runner by James Dashner

images-1Release date: October 6th, 2009

Publisher: Chicken House

Number of pages: 371

Genre: Dystopia

“When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas remembers is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade – a walled encampment at the centre of a bizarre and terrible stone maze. Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there – or what’s happened to the world outside.”

MY REVIEW

This book had been on my TBR list forever! But it was never one of those books I was actually planning on reading till recently. There seemed to be a sudden burst of Maze Runner fans on Tumblr in the last month talking about how amazing the book is and all that. I believe this outburst was caused by the new information we now have on the movie adaption of this book which comes out next year in Feb! And besides, I have been meaning to read more dystopians. I am SO glad I decided to pick this up.

The character development in this book is very well done! You get to know the boys in the Glade, their different personalities and attitudes and quirks. They go through a lot, the Gladers, and you get to experience their emotions as they do. The main character is Thomas, who is smart, curious and, being a newbie to the Glade, very different to the other boys. There’s adorable, fun Chuck; strict, scary Alby; the helpful, kind-of-nice Newt; the supportive Minho – and a couple of others. Can’t wait to see what happens to these guys in the sequel!

From the start of the book, you will be asking questions and just reading, reading, reading to try and find some answers! That’s one of the main things that makes this book a page-turner – it is filled to the brim with words and names and statements you don’t understand, but you know that if you turn the page, you MIGHT find out! It was very tempting to sneak a peak at the last words of the chapter or a few chapters forward, and I made the mistake once or twice and spoiled it for myself. I never really understood how people could just NOT put down a book, but after reading The Maze Runner, I get it. It’s intense and suspenseful, and there is witty dialogue sprinkled throughout! I’m actually wanting to re-read it now, but other books await me!

James Dashner writes very well! Action, emotion, dialogue – all of that good stuff! I really enjoyed his writing; like I’ve mentioned before, it was suspenseful, intense and really gripping! Can’t wait to read the rest of this trilogy.

 I would absolutely recommend this book to you! It’s so amazing, especially the ending, when everything becomes clear, but then new questions pop up! The characters, the twisting and surprising storyline, the writing and just everything about this book is awesome!

MY RATING

Characters: 2/2

Plot: 2/2

Writing style: 1/1

Yes, I really did love this book, but when it comes to the extra 2 points I could give, I start comparing to my favourites – like The Fault in Our Stars and The Kite Runner – and that’s when I decide to be a little mean. So, +1. 😉

6/5

Happy reading and Running,

Z.

(Fun fact: I’m writing this at 5am. During the holidays. _._)

One thought on “The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Leave a Reply

