Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

200px-WillGraysonRelease date: April 6th 2010

Publisher: Dutton Books

Number of pages (in hardcover edition): 310

Genre: Social/ Young Adult Literature

“One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.”

MY REVIEW

This was the first book I read by David Levithan. And WGWG was the only John Green book I hadn’t read. I can’t believe I waited so long to read this, and I’m very happy that I now have.

Characters in this book were so strong and beautifully portrayed in their own unique way. Will Grayson’s best friend, Tiny Cooper is absolutely fabulous and if he was not a fictional character, but rather a living, breathing teenager, I would so be his friend. There were homosexual people in this novel, and each of them were different – contradicting the general stereotype people have of the gay population.

In Will Grayson, Will Grayson the authors have explored homosexual relationships, not only between gays, but also between homosexual teenagers and straight teenagers. There was also the aspect of coming out to parents, friends and peers that was looked at.

Love, in general, was one of the bigger themes of this novel. How we know, how we fall, how we find people and things and places. Love between friends, love that is independent of sexual feelings. All of this was told, not only through the two Will Graysons given a voice, but also through the other characters, like Tiny Cooper. I found it all very insightful and fascinating; it’s what makes this book so unique – the diversity of voices behind the words on the page.

John Green’s writing, as always, is incredible. I haven’t quite found the words to describe exactly how I feel when I am reading Green’s words, when thoughts are flying around my head at top speed and I’m trying to make sense of everything in the best possible way. John Green is, and will always remain, one of my favourite authors (I don’t have many).

David Levithan writes emotion very well. Feelings were conveyed quite strongly through a couple of very powerful words. There’s also a lot of wit in Levithan’s writing that makes me smile while reading. I’m definitely going to go find every other book David Levithan has written and I shall read them all! I’m very excited about getting into his novels, because it’s clearly shown in Will Grayson, Will Grayson that Levithan’s messages and style go hand-in-hand with everything I love about reading.

You need to go read this book, especially if you’ve previously read any of John Green’s or David Levithan’s books. Go, go, go! Will Grayson, Will Grayson is a MUST read for any young adult, and even any adult.

MY RATING

Characters: 2/2

Plot: 2/2

Writing style: 1/1

And I’d be crazy to think that this book doesn’t have that extra “I love you so much!” factor. So +2!

Yet another:

7/5

Happy reading and DFTBA,

Z.

Leave a Reply

